Don’t Give Up: You Have Too Much to Live For…

The idea for this blog post came from a discussion at a support group that I attended. No names will be provided and any relation to persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental. Even the first person is not necessarily personal…

How does one come to grips with the concept of suicide? The idea of self-murder and all the meticulous planning it entails is antithetical to life. Yet, simultaneously the urge toward self-destruction is very human and cannot simply be repressed. Indeed, some of the most poetic words in the English language have debated the sanctity of life:

“To be, or not to be, that is the question – Whether ‘tis Nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous Fortune, Or to take Arms against a Sea of troubles, And by opposing end them? To die, to sleep – No more; and by a sleep to say we end the heart-ache and the thousand natural shocks that Flesh is heir to? ‘Tis a consummation Devoutly to be wished…”

Hamlet (3.1.64-73)

To speak from personal experience, I am acutely aware that questioning one’s existence is an essential part of being human. Bipolar mania and the ensuing depression are interwoven into my very DNA. A long-time sufferer of Type I Bipolar Illness, I know that it is easy, far too easy, to lose oneself in a cycle of self-loathing. To question one’s existence, to spin ever downward in a violent spiral toward the ground, to need sleep because you haven’t slept in a week, I understand all these things…

However, this is not a forum for me to expound on personal trials and tribulations. Instead, I am trying to offer advice. Do not continue on that downward spiral: stop looking down. It is difficult, nay impossible, to forget one’s troubles by refusing to think about them. The very act of telling yourself to forget is a reminder and a more fitting mental exercise is to focus your thoughts elsewise. Stop thinking of all the reasons not to stay, instead focus on all of the reasons you have to live.

Everyone has something to live for; your purpose could be as simple as brightening a stranger’s day with your smile, listening to your favorite song or feeling the sun’s warmth on your skin. Alternatively, your purpose in life could be as deep as refusing to abandon the people who love you the most.

I was lost once, but the memory of one person who loved me held me back. My feet right up to the edge, I was desperate not to be swallowed into oblivion. So instead I looked up and blinded by the memory of one person who loved me, I continued…

Never give up: You have too much to live for…

And if you need help consider visiting: 441 Park Ave., San Jose CA 95110, calling 408-287-7428 or accessing http://www.actmentalhealth.org.

One thought on “Don’t Give Up: You Have Too Much to Live For…

  1. Wow! I love your post and it’s so inspiring. I couldn’t agree more with your statement “stop thinking of all the reasons not to stay, instead focus on all of the reasons you have to live.” It’s not always easy but it’s so worth the effort!

    Like

Leave a Reply

